Welcome, Marilyn Monroe to our new portrait website.

Craig Smith here, and today we welcome a new entry to my art website. The honorable, talented, sexy, and even quotable Marilyn Monroe.

MarilynMonroe_eyes_400px-wideAs many of you may know, I just launched my portrait art-based website (www.masartwork.com/art). Now, I am starting to create more portraits of famous people to populate the site. There is no one better to start with, than Marilyn. I decided to start small; this portrait is only 5″x7″, but I wanted to do one relatively quickly. Luckily, the stippling style stands up to enlargement really well, so this will look good at almost any size.

When choosing the image, I wanted to select a photo where she was easily recognizable and iconic, yet an image that hasn’t been seen a lot (at least by me). So, the images of her over the sewer grate were definitely out. I came across this one, and think it shows the beauty of Marilyn without it being a caricature of herself. It shows the more mature side of her, yet still hints at the innate sexiness of her confidence and intelligence.

MarilynMonroe_Coat_300max

This piece took me around two months of lunch hours and evenings to complete, and I think it came together fairly smoothly. With a subject like Marilyn, how can you go wrong? I’ll tell you how. Too many dots in the wrong places and it could make her look really old, or with bad skin, or a lazy eye or something. I think I sidestepped those landmines quite successfully.

 

So, without further ado, here is a thumbnail of the image. To see it larger, just click it, and it’ll take you to my website where you can enjoy it full size, as well as many other pieces of my artwork.

 

Also…

The base M•A•S Artwork site used to hold both Alyx’s photography as well as my artwork. I have now removed my stipple art from the site, so it is now fully dedicated to my wife’s photography. You can click here (www.masartwork.com) to see her unique images and order some prints for Christmas.

Stay tuned for more images from each of us, and don’t forget to share our websites and blogs with your friends. I’m sure they like looking at great artwork too. Really, you’re doing them a favor.

Thanks,

Craig P. Smith