Site Redesign

As an artist (in any genre, really) it can be difficult to assess what constitutes your best work.  For me, many of the images on our website are a part of me.  Plus, just tweaking an image a little bit here and there offers a new story or perspective on your subject.  So, for me it can be difficult to narrow it down to just one shot of a particular subject.

That’s why I reached out to a wonderful photography teacher that I know for some advice.  She’s got years of experience, and also juries for gallery shows and art fairs, so I was thrilled that she was willing to help me.  So, one Saturday afternoon, she offered an objective evaluation of my images, and gave me three suggestions.

Her first critique was that I had WAY too many images up.  I knew that was the case, but again, I needed her guidance to weed out the weakest photos, which she did.  The next suggestion was to separate the black and white images from the full-color ones.  Apparently having them intermingled as I did wasn’t uniform enough, and the full-color images often took focus away from the strong black and white pics.

I took those suggestions and updated the photography website, which you can see here.  Her final recommendation was something I wasn’t able to do before this blog was due, so you’ll just have to come back and see the next round of improvements.

While you’re looking around the updated site, you might notice that Craig’s photos are no longer there.  Craig has decided to focus more of his attention on his stippling and illustrations, so his photos have gone away from our site.  We still have them, and we’re in the process of figuring out how to keep them available for those who want to purchase them, but since I had more photos on the site, we decided to separate things out a little bit and make the photography site more for me, and the art site more for him (you can see his site here).

We’ve also made one more adjustment . . .

We’ve partnered with PayPal Credit to offer a great deal on our images.  Any purchase over $99 will be allowed to be paid off in 6 months without being charged interest!  I’ve used this feature before with my own online purchases, so I know what a convenience it is, and we’re glad to be able to offer it to our customers.  With the holidays coming up, this makes it a great time to purchase all the images you want for your family and friends, and get a break on paying off the bill.

AND, we’ll go even one better . . . any purchase over $99 will receive free shipping through the holidays!  Yep, you read right.  From now until January 1st, you won’t have to pay anything more than the cost of the image(s) (provided you buy at least $99 worth).

So there you have it.  A revamped website, and two great deals on your next purchase!  Enjoy!

One thought on “Site Redesign

Leave a Reply

