Exploring a New Technique

It’s true with every profession that you get better the more you practice.  What’s also true for artists is that, you not only get better at your profession, but you also uncover new ways to express your art.  Picasso went through his Blue Period, and Jackson Pollock had his whole drip painting style, which he didn’t develop until a few years after he’d been a known painter.

Even photographers go through phases.  Sometimes we learn a different photographic technique, or some new software comes out, or we see another person’s work that inspires us to try something new ourselves.  Regardless, we too are constantly growing and evolving in our artistic expressions.

For me, lately this has been the use of the sepia filter in Photoshop.  I’ve normally been prone to using either full color or simple black and white with my images.  But I recently took a trip to Boston and many of the images I captured there seemed to beg for something different.

Especially this one of a path sign in a cemetery I visited just outside of Boston.  You can clearly see the age in the object, but it was such a bright day, that the mood wouldn’t have been right had I left it in full color.

Myrtle Ave Marker - ColorBut changing it to black and white didn’t quite pull off the effect of what I was looking for, either.

Myrtle Ave Marker - B&WSo I took a chance on sepia, and BAM!  The image came alive for me.

Myrtle Ave Marker - SalemI still had quite a few images that looked better in the “old” ways, but a number of them didn’t POP until I used a sepia filter in Photoshop.

I used to be leery of going through a “phase” or “period” like Picasso or Pollock.  But now I see that using a different technique once in a while doesn’t mean I’m going to do ALL my images in that way from now on.  It just allows me to use pictures that I wouldn’t have been able to if I wasn’t willing to expand my horizons and try something new.

Leave a Reply

