Hidden Gems

When I lived in Prague, I would fly to England every once in a while, so that I could get a taste of Western Civilization again.  While I spoke some Czech, it wasn’t enough to truly enjoy the programming on television over there, not to mention the fact that there were some health and beauty items that you just couldn’t find in the pre-EU country.

When I ventured across the Channel, I usually opted for towns other than London for two reasons: 1) I’d been to London twice and wanted to see other parts of the UK; and 2) I wasn’t terribly enamored with London the times I’d been there.

However, for the Easter weekend in 2004, I decided to spend time inside London.  This was where I came to truly enjoy the giant city and all it had to offer.  What changed it for me?  It was a four-hour walk through the mostly empty city on Easter Sunday.

I took the tube from my B&B to the London Bridge stop, and walked from the south side, over and across the Tower Bridge, and just followed where my feet, and the twisting, winding roads led me.

One such side road led me to my favorite spot in all of London: St Dunstan-in-the-East.

This church–that had been built in the 12th century, and largely destroyed during WW II–was now a garden and sitting spot, and I was drawn in to its serene beauty.

London - St Dunstan's in the East

Again, the city was very quiet–mostly because I began my journey at 7am that Sunday–so I had this peaceful spot all to myself for quite a while.  I loved how it had been turned into gardens, but I also loved how Mother Nature herself began to reclaim the building in the form of vines that grew and clung all over the two remaining walls of the old building.

I ventured on after a while and took pictures of other areas along the Thames and throughout the rest of the city, and when I started hearing cars on the road at 11am, I figured it was time to get some lunch and get on with the rest of my day.

London - St Dunstan's - VinesWhen I returned home and downloaded the photos, I was thrilled to see that I had captured the sense of peace I’d felt at St Dunstan’s on that Easter Sunday.  Turning the pictures into black and white images really added to the beauty as well.

I hope you enjoyed the images of St Dunstan’s-in-the-East.  These are now available for purchase on our Etsy shop, as well as some other images I took during that Easter Sunday in 2004.  Thanks for reliving the journey with me.  I’ll see you next month!

Leave a Reply

