Welcome to MAS

Welcome to the very first Blog for MAS Artwork. We are the married couple of Craig Smith and Alyx Morgan. What we do is take photographs and make pretty pictures. We have started our own Etsy store, which you can find here, and we created this blog to tell you more of our stories, and to share insights to our processes and thoughts when taking or creating our images.

Alyx is our company’s main photographer and her work makes up the majority of photos for our company.  Craig also takes photographs, but his specialty is turning those images into original artwork using the style called pointillism (stippling).

Alyx Morgan

I’d been given a camera as a teenager, but never really got bitten by the shutterbug until my mid-twenties.  A family friend had come to visit me when I was working at Walt Disney World, and had taken about 15 rolls of film during his vacation; none of which produced any photos when he tried to get them processed.  He bought me a Kodak Advantix camera and asked me to retake as many images as I could for him, so that he would finally have something to remember his vacation by.  I was on my fifth roll of film for him when I suddenly realized how much I LOVE to take pictures.

Pretty soon, that camera was like another appendage.  I took it everywhere I traveled and shot hundreds of pictures wherever I went.  Over the years, I upgraded to a digital camera, so that I could instantly delete any photos I didn’t like and didn’t have to wait until I returned home and spent lots of money on film processing to do so.  I also began dabbling in black and white photography, and have become a huge fan of that, too.

It quickly became apparent that the pictures I most enjoy taking are of regular things and places at unusual angles.  While you will see famous buildings in the pictures posted here, they might not be in a way you’re used to seeing them.  For me, the world is even more interesting when you look at it from a completely different vantage.

 Craig Smith

I’ve been an artist ever since I could hold a pencil in my hand.  It wasn’t until college that I had my first foray into pointillism (also known as stippling).  It was an assignment for a class, and I did a picture that I found in a National Geographic magazine of the Pulteney Bridge in Bath, England. A few years later, Alyx and I tried our hands at making it in New York City. We were just friends back then. But a trip to the World Trade Center (when it still stood) introduced me to street vendors who sold their artwork and collections from carts. It struck me that pointillism would be the perfect medium for me to create collections of images to sell. That started me creating portraits of some famous actors, religious leaders, and even some Star Wars characters.

145When Alyx and I got together in 2009, I looked at some of the photos she’d taken in the past, and thought they were perfectly suited for my pen and ink style.  I chose one (the Leaning Tower of Pisa steps), and have been doing several a year ever since. One of the images from Alyx’s photographs is from a garden in Powerscourt, Ireland. As you see here, it’s a beautiful, serene scene, both in Alyx’s photo and here in my pointillism illustration. Her wonderful eye for design, pattern, texture and lighting make for great pictures and work well in the pointillism style. I actually have a long list of images I’m planning for the future, too; more of Alyx’s photos and even some from my own.  In fact, looking for images to use in my stippling artwork has led me to become a photographer myself. You’ll see some of my photos in our shop as well, so be sure to check out our Etsy store.

Powerscourt Stairs PointillismPhew, that’s done!  Now that you know a little bit about us, remember to come back and view our featured artwork.  We’ll be writing two blogs a month here:  Alyx on the 4th Wednesday of every month, and Craig on the 2nd Wednesday of every month.  Feel free to follow our blog, check out our Etsy store for new images, and by all means “Like” and “Share” us to your heart’s content, and help us get the word out.

Thank you so much.

MAS Artwork

3 thoughts on “Welcome to MAS

  1. Pingback: Stippling. It’s What I Do. | M·A·S Artwork's Blog

Leave a Reply

